A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Are Mufflers required

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2017, 01:41 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are Mufflers required

Audi Allroad 2000, 2.7t. As far as my exhaust system, so far I've uprated to high flow exhaust manifolds, 3" downpipes (all Zircotec coated), with the front cats removed. Both fuel efficiency and performance have increased. My question is this. I'm now thinking of uprating the rear section of the exhaust system and I"m wondering does the car require 2 mufflers, one on each side, or can I get away with a 3" straight through system. (I'm wanting to continue in 3" due to future plans for upgrades).
Old 04-14-2017, 05:27 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

I'm not a certified mechanic but I think mechanically you would be fine to do so but you will probably hear the turbo's whine if you do this may not sound great. I was thinking of upgrading the exhaust on mine and I looked at some videos on YouTube even with some of the performance exhaust you could hear it. The magnaflow one's you could hear it but it wasn't really loud also I like the sound of them better than some of the others. I know that with no mufflers you will have increased flow but there will be little to no back pressure I think that it will have a poping sound (backfiring) when you let off the accelerator. IMO that a popping exhaust doesn't sound good.
Old 04-14-2017, 05:28 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by solidjon