A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Should I purchase an extended warranty?

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2002, 07:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I purchase an extended warranty?

Hi: I am a newbie to this forum, I just purchased a 1999 A6 2.8Q 19,000 miles fully loaded for $18,000 from a friend, no dents or accidents
Because I am unfamiliar with the track record of the 1999 A6 2.8Q your valuable input would be greatly appreciated. Should I purchase an extended warranty from the local Audi dealer.

General Electric Extended Warranty--70,000 miles coverage
3 Star covers the engine and drive train only---the cost is $1,690.
5 Star covers the car bumper to bumper--the cost is $2,695.
The car just ended its factory warranty on 8/02, so right now I am kind of nervous.
Again, thanks for your input.
Bocky
Old 09-26-2002, 08:10 PM

Default Your friend bought a 1999 in August '98? Anyway, I'd get an extended warranty, but not that one....

Seems VERY expensive, but maybe term is longer than most (which is usually 3 additional years). I have Autoshield and, in spite of many bad stories I've heard about them, they have been very good to me on two cars.

Get the warranty, but shop around for the best price.
Old 09-26-2002, 08:38 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default No, price isn' t the only issue. GE offers an "exclusive" warranty which covers more than others!

Was highly recommended by MoBrazn, especially after seeing how (was it Continental?) would exclude items that you would think were covered, for reasons similar to what Audi uses. Not to mention how many things aren't covered.

So don't just consider price. Read up on the pitfalls of warranties, and then weigh your priorities.