A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007 - 2011

Newly (self) painted door blades

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2019, 02:22 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 33 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Newly (self) painted door blades

I'm kinda proud of myself and wanted to share my success with everyone. The door blades at the bottom of my doors are separating from rain getting in there and causing rust which causes it to separate. So, I went to the junkyard and found 3 (couldn't find one for the driver's door yet) and paid a whopping $19 or so dollars for all three. My car is silver and these were blue. I need to point out that I have ZERO experience with painting. I got some primer from Lowes, ordered some color match paint and got a spray bottle of 2K clear coat, a small bottle of prep solvent, a roll of blue painter's tape, a tack rag and a variety of sandpaper. I watched a ton of youtube videos and set everything up in my garage this past weekend and gave it a shot. I think the results (color match, finish and fitment) are OUTSTANDING. I really wish I had the 4th one and did them all at once because it was a tedious and time consuming process and it will be hard for me to repeat just for the one piece.

Let me know what you think.

old (original) ones on the car and replacements on the ground

Products I used (awesome stuff)

original, replacement and replacement after sanding

Sanding in progress

Sanding

Primer

Primer

Base (color) coat

Final base (color) coat

After clear coat (still wet)

Driver rear door BEFORE

Driver rear door AFTER

Passenger rear door BEFORE

Passenger rear door AFTER

Passenger front door BEFORE

Passenger front door AFTER

Passenger front door BEFORE

Passenger front door AFTER

Space between passenger front and rear doors BEFORE

Space between passenger front and rear doors AFTER

Passenger side profile AFTER
Old 03-14-2019, 02:37 PM
AudiWorld Super User