A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is 160k mi too much for a 2000 A8?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2007, 02:05 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is 160k mi too much for a 2000 A8?

I apologize for my newbiness....i've got my eye on a 2000 A8 with 160k on the clock. The owner is competant and said it was a trade-in at a dealership. He says everything works on it except for a small coolant leak at the oil cooler (not sure if that's what he meant...coolant or oil).

What can I expect in terms of reliability? I'm a competant mechanic but I don't want to buy a money pit. Any suggestions? I looked over the buyers guide for the car, but what else should I look out for?

Thanks in advance...
Old 02-08-2007, 02:31 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default oil cooler not a big deal-loads of help here

Tran hunting/thumping in american cars and check the timing belts been done.
[He meant coolant out of the oil coooler-suggest you check the cars coolant and oil for cross contamination.
good luck and welcome
Old 02-08-2007, 05:37 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default whereabouts?

Find out if the timing belt has been done
Old 02-08-2007, 05:45 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default Re: Is 160k mi too much for a 2000 A8?

A8's are money pits if you pay to have work done, otherwise they are worthwhile supercars that pay back their owners with unbelievable performance per dollar.
Old 02-08-2007, 06:49 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Right, the 5V oil cooler is time consuming but not expensive in parts to put right

And there are so far no reports of hunting or thumping transmissions in 2000 and newer cars, though some will lose reverse due to a bad clutch seal deep inside the transmission.

audilvr's summary seems about right.

Tom
Old 02-09-2007, 04:00 AM
AudiWorld Member

Default awesome