A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1998 2.8 Coolant/Heat issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2012, 11:40 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1998 2.8 Coolant/Heat issue

Well i am new to the world of owning an Audi A8 and so far i love the car!! However i have a couple of issues and i am unsure if they are related.

1) it overheated today. For a very short time. as soon as the warning light message came on i was pulling up to park anyway. sat there for 10 minutes and carried on and was back straight to 90 again on the dial. i checked the coolant and there pretty much was none left. I noticed that there is a sludge in the coolant tank? I topped up the G12 coolant and took it out for about 4 miles and was fine. Something else i noticed when i turn the car off there is a noise like air pressure being released from behind the coolant reservoir. Now the next thing is i know is to get the coolant drained and completely flushed and refilled but i was wondering what could have caused this? as i don't want it happen again! Behind the oil cap is fine no sludge and the dipstick is all good. Its had a oil change recently so the oil is clear. It doesn't appear that the coolant and oil are contaminating each other?

the 2nd issue is that the fans in the car blow absolutely fine. But i do not get any heat at all. I am unsure where to start on this one?

Any advise for a new A8 owner would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance!
Old 11-19-2012, 02:11 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

The sludge in the coolant probably says it all (or most of it)...somebody screwed up and mixed the wrong coolant with G-12. Even a very small amount of ANY coolant (no matter what the label claims) added to G-12 results in a thick brown sludge that clogs heater cores and can eventually eat up plastic parts in the coolant circuit.