A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2002 D2 4.2 Engine

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2013, 07:54 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 D2 4.2 Engine

Hi. I am a newbie and I am hoping for info on the 02 D2. I am looking to buy one, $7k, 107,000 miles. No records. Suggestions on how reliable it is and yays and nays on if it is a good buy or not would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Old 11-03-2013, 03:46 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by bksa77
Hi. I am a newbie and I am hoping for info on the 02 D2. I am looking to buy one, $7k, 107,000 miles. No records. Suggestions on how reliable it is and yays and nays on if it is a good buy or not would be appreciated.

Thanks.
As for value, with no major issues (approximate) >>>

http://www.kbb.com/audi/a8/2002-audi...=107000#survey

Major issue to look for would be trans...drive it...look for any "bucking" (rpm up and down) at constant light throttle at mid speeds (30-60mph) or any odd shifting behavior...shutter while accelerating, hard up shifts or downshifts, slow to go in gear from stop (more than one second in reverse or drive).

Check engine light? ...get a free code scan or hook to VagCom for other codes.

At that mileage without records, count on a timing belt change...DIY just a few hundred $$ (or less)...dealer or garage $1500-over $2000) <<< fact of life for timing belt engine owners.

Although I find them quite dependable, other than a rep for trans problems at higher mileage (130-185K miles or higher...results vary widely, some well over 200K), in 9 years mine has been quite dependable and minimum $$ outlay...but I do ALL my own tooling.