A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'98 A8 D2 Quattro no power...

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2008, 08:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '98 A8 D2 Quattro no power...

Has no power when the key is turned, the passenger compartment fan still runs though.

It's been parked for a while and the batter has a full charge.

Anyone have any ideas?
Old 08-21-2008, 09:08 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Default "No power" as in the engine does not turn over?

I'm relatively new to Audis, but I've had lots of experience with cars that wouldn't start.

It is possible to have corroded connections on your battery that would allow enough voltage to run minor accessories, but not turn the engine over. Check that first, it's easy.

Next, look at the connections to the starter itself and any connections in-between. Any of them could corrode to the point of failure. Especially if you live in a salty area like me.

Also check this: <a href="https://forums.audiworld.com/a8/msgs/170240.phtml">Another battery question</a>

You could also try to jump start the car, just to rule out any issues with the battery itself, although you said it is full.

85% of the non-starting problems I have experienced were from one of the issues above.

Good luck!
Old 08-21-2008, 10:19 AM

Default Re: "No power" as in the engine does not turn over?

It's not just not starting, no power at all. Completely dead.

I have the Bentley manual, but it pretty much is... for crap. No real schematics or such. Bleh.
Old 08-21-2008, 11:09 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Default Completely dead or Air Conditioning fan still runs?

In the first post, you said that the fan was still running, but now there is no power at all?

Do you have a solar sunroof? I don't know when that option was available but it would probably continue to operate your fans regardless of the battery.