A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for an S8, i have a few questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2005, 07:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for an S8, i have a few questions

First off im an audi newb (first post) and i might be interested in getting a S8 pretty soon. Problem is, i have a couple questions and i cant seem to find any answers. So, if you could, feel free to add answers and opinions!

A) What are the differences in years? (01, 02, and 03)

B) Im worried about regular maintainence, is that a killer with these cars? Or would i be ok as long as theres a warrenty?

C) What performance mods are avalible for them? All i have found so far is exhaust... any web sites?

i think thats about it for now...

Thanks!
Old 09-27-2005, 09:11 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default I'll take a stab..

A) 2001, first year in US. 2002 added a sport mode to the tranny, a 6 CD in-dash changer and some minor color differences. 2003 added the RS style wheels, special paint and interior "Audi Exclusive" combos like Avus silver/burgundy, black/caramel and ming blue/platinum No other colors were made. The sport steering wheel was lost in favor of the comfort wheel with stereo controls. Check the model guide/historical section for all the details.

B) Regular maintenance isn't too bad, no worse than other high end German car, perhaps a little better than some BMWs and MBZs. Taking care of the tranny is paramount and regular tranny fluid/fiter changes are highly recommended. Other than oil changes, there will be a necessary timing belt change at around 90K. Overall these engines are very strong and reliable. A certified pre-owned car with a warranty is a nice security blanket, but you will pay a lot more for one at a dealer, most likely thousands more than from a private party or non-Audi dealer.