AudiWorld Forums

AudiWorld Forums (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/)
-   A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a8-s8-d2-platform-discussion-8/)
-   -   Newbie here, just bought a 2001 S8 junker to save! (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a8-s8-d2-platform-discussion-8/newbie-here-just-bought-2001-s8-junker-save-2934250/)

infinity2017 10-07-2017 08:49 PM

Newbie here, just bought a 2001 S8 junker to save!

7 Attachment(s)
Hi Everybody, newbie from Colorado. Today I just bought a 2001 S8 to resurrect. It's beat pretty much into the ground but I wanted to save it. I'm not even an Audi guy but noticed that someone on this forum said that 538 were imported into the USA that year, and fast forward sixteen years probably leaves hardly any out there anymore. The owner was getting ready to strip the aftermarket wheels off and sell it to the junkyard so I bought it. Here are some pictures. I'm going to put it back together and make it awesome again and then cannonball run it across the country to my garage in New York and put it with my car collection. Last spring I did the same thing with a smashed super rare 2002 Designo Mercedes big body that I bought out of a junkyard and it was alot of fun. Now the Designo is safe and sound under a cover in my garage in New York.

I did have some questions about this car if anyone can answer them:
1) It turns over but doesn't start, the seller said the front cam position sensor was bad, might this be true? I haven't started working on it yet but have also researched that it could be because of a bad fuel pump, no gas, bad coolant sensor or bad crank position sensor. The car has 203k miles on it and was babied until a teenager got his paws on it in 2012 and just destroyed it. Then it sat from 2013 to now.
2) The rear window slides down by itself, is this easy to fix?