A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

RPM Trouble

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2013, 12:48 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RPM Trouble

Hello everyone, I am new to the Audi Community and I have a quick question..

I recently bought a 1999 Audi A8 4.2 Quattro, and seem to be having problems with the RPM's.
Every time I accelerate it will go up in RPMs and then for a quick half second it will drop down half a step or a full step in RPM's..

Example... I'm accelerating to 60, and it will drop from 2000 RPM to 1500 RPM while accelerating froma stop, and will consist until 60.. Even at a steady speed it still kind of sputters..

Anyone have any input/thought on this situation? Any input would be grateful!
The car looks dead sexy, it's just having a little trouble right now, might have a certified auto shop look at it within the week.
Old 10-26-2013, 01:29 PM
AudiWorld Member

slipping clutch? changing gear?
Old 10-26-2013, 02:03 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by dreamhope
slipping clutch? changing gear?
It drops RPM through out the gears.
It does have a little bit of trouble changing gears it seems... Hopefully it isn't the transmission, but it's always a possibility.
Old 10-26-2013, 02:34 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by Gahhruuba
Hello everyone, I am new to the Audi Community and I have a quick question..

I recently bought a 1999 Audi A8 4.2 Quattro, and seem to be having problems with the RPM's.
Every time I accelerate it will go up in RPMs and then for a quick half second it will drop down half a step or a full step in RPM's..

Example... I'm accelerating to 60, and it will drop from 2000 RPM to 1500 RPM while accelerating froma stop, and will consist until 60.. Even at a steady speed it still kind of sputters..