A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice on buying an A8

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2008, 05:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on buying an A8

Greetings all A8 enthusiasts,

I am begining to plan my purchase of my second car, the first I have purchased on my own. I have driven my Impala since new for 140,000 miles.

Now, I have graduated from college and work at a financial services company. My Impala seems like it will die at some point in the near future, and I have been considering a new car for a few months now. After alot of searching, and test-driving, I have concluded I want an Audi A8. I drove the 2009 A8L, and loved it, however, I think I would prefer a SWB. Also, I by no means have the capital to purchase brand new.

So I think I have settled on a SWB 2005 A8, with sub 40k miles. I will drive it in upstate NY mostly, year round. I prefer the front end on the '05 to those on the '06+.

At any rate, I am looking for advice on how/where to buy my first Audi. There is only 1 audi dealer local, and they are notorious for being poor service and overpriced for preowned. They also don't have any used a8's in stock.

I have some friends that are able to purchase vehicles at dealer auctions (www.manheim.com), but am worried about what type of problems it may have. Is this an equal risk to buying one off of ebay?

Also, what about warranties? Should I tough it out with out one, and use an independent mechanic, purchase a third party warranty, or what do I have to do to get an Audi warranty?

Also, is there somewhere I can find all of the options (colors, interiors, wheels, options) for the '05 model year A8. Also, what about importation #'s for the U.S. or North America.?

Thanks for all input (hopefully it is positive).

Regards,

Justin
Old 09-18-2008, 09:33 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts