A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HVAC not cold enough

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2019, 01:24 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 40 Likes on 33 Posts
Default HVAC not cold enough

I have a 2005 a8 d3 v8

I am not satisfied with the cooling performance of my car. Comfort is relative, I do recall my car’s A/C ran a lot better than this some time before.

VCDS = no errors
reading show hvac is running efficiently

Car R134a psi readings Low = 30 H = 180

This first website I came across states psi reading for my A/C is about normal.

At 90F L = 30 H = 230 ( I am no expert H side a little low maybe ?)

It is the Houston Summer. I want my A/C to run COLD!
I did a little more research and picked a chart with that was easy to read and had the most common Ambient temp to PSI readings out there.
(see chart below)

Based on this chart here are my conclusions:

Low pressure
  • Cooler temp 65-80F (Max psi changes 1 psi per 1 degree F) (35-50 psi range)
  • Warmer temp 85-110F ( Max psi 55)
High pressure
  • 65-110F psi range consistently increases as temp increases
According to my phone Houston temp is at 90F. Based on this chart my car is low on refrigerant.

90F L = 45-55 H = 250-270 Actual at 90F L = 30 H=180

There is a lot of talk about adding the exact amount of refrigerant.
The best procedure is to evacuate the system and then add r134a I agree.
I also agree that adding too much refrigerant is not good.
(I have seen this happen. Too much refrigerant will decrease performance.)
Most of us reading these posts prefer to do stuff ourselves.
Since I am not happy with the temp. Adding refrigerant is the better option than status quo.
If this does not work, I may have to replace parts therefore must evacuate the system anyway.

Concerns:
  • Overcharging will destroy the A/C.
  • Flooding the A/C with refrigerant will destroy the compressor
Since