A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just purchased a 2004 Audi A8 and have a few questions for now

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2014, 02:45 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Just purchased a 2004 Audi A8 and have a few questions for now

Sorry if these questions seem stupid but I am no mechanic. The dealership I purchased the 2004 Audi A8 put 87 octane gas instead of 91. Would that throw P0171 and P0174 error codes. He said the check engine light was not on when he drove the car back from the auction but he put after he put gas in it the check engine light came on and he put the computer/machine and it threw those codes. I also had Autozone run a diagnostic and it returned the same codes. Secondly the washers for the headlights work for the drivers headlight but does not even open for the passenger. Please advise, thanks.
Old 12-26-2014, 04:54 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

First off sorry your first a8 experience started this way. I am dealer and in our state a dealer cannot sell a car that doesn't pass emissions which more than likely in your case they car wouldn't due to those codes. Not sure the rules where you live or even if you do the smog test . The AutoZone readers are just there to kinda guide you and give you and idea where to start. Find someone with a vag or buy it you will need it. As for the headlamp washer it could be several things but vag will scan that too maybe the motor dead
Old 12-26-2014, 05:21 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts

You should buy VCDS (VAG-COM). It will pay itself in a no time. Scan will tell you (and us if you post it here) much more than those codes.