AudiWorld Forums

AudiWorld Forums (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/)
-   A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a8-s8-d3-platform-discussion-60/)
-   -   Transfer Case Tire Tread relationship (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a8-s8-d3-platform-discussion-60/transfer-case-tire-tread-relationship-2855871/)

wpatton2@cox.net 10-25-2013 05:04 PM

Transfer Case Tire Tread relationship

Recently purchased a used A8L, 2007, 77,000 miles. Tires appeared in reasonably good shape. Had a blow out, and went to purchase 1 tire. Was told Audi recommends replacing at minimum both tires on the same axle to avoid tire tread depth discrepancy which can or will cause the transfer case to fail. Tread depth must not exceed 4/32" (an 1/8th?). Tire dealer would not sell me 1 tire for fear of having to replace my transfer case?
I'm new to Audi and 4 wheel drive. Does this sound right? Because, at face value, it sound like BS to me!

bmwm750 10-25-2013 07:45 PM

It's not BS. The Torsen center diff uses the difference in wheel speeds across the axles to control how much torque goes to which axle. Sadly, the diff cannot tell the difference between wheel slip and a set of tires that are worn to different tread depths, or are of different sizes.

It's not about matching tires on the same axle to each other (as the front and rear diffs are open), it's more about the rotational speeds of the driveshafts from the center diff to each drive axle that matter. This is influenced by the overall rolling diameter of a pair of tires, comparing the front to the rear.

Now, what the bigger question becomes is how much discrepancy in rolling diameter of each tire becomes problematic on a dry road at normal speeds. Obviously, you can't run different size tires, and even staggered setups (which are an absolute move in the wrong direction anyway on an AWD car) can potentially be problematic (285/30-18 is just about the same rolling diameter as 225/45-18 but not quite).