A8 / S8 (D4 Platform) Discussion Discussion Forum for the D4 Audi A8 Produced from 2010-2017 Audi S8 produced from 2012-2017
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'15 A8 4.0T or '14 A8 3.0T

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2016, 06:43 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default '15 A8 3.0T or '14 A8 4.0T

So, here's my dilemma. I am looking at buying a preowned A8L to replace my 2005 A8L. I have been driving my 05 for 8 years and I still love it, but 140K miles and some serious repairs lately as me ready to upgrade. With the money I am willing to spend, I am basically stuck between the slightly nicer looking (sorry pre-face lift guys!) or slightly faster (sorry 3.0T guys!) cars. I am not sure which one makes more sense. Whichever one I get I plan on driving for many years to come so it's not a quick flip. I do like the looks of both, although I do like the look of the 15 more. Of course I also like the speed of the 4.0T engine more as well. Coming from an 05, I have neither the speed nor the upgraded looks. So confused, looking forward to your input!

Thanks!

Edited the title to reflect the correct year/engine option, sorry!

Last edited by theanimala; 03-16-2016 at 01:25 AM. Reason: messed up logic!
Old 03-15-2016, 07:01 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 711 Likes on 502 Posts

Guess I'm a bit confused here. Your post suggests that you like both the face lifted and faster car, so that would be the 2015 4.0T. So what's the dilemma then? From your post it's not a matter of preferred styling OR faster performance, since the 2015 checks both boxes.
Old 03-15-2016, 07:12 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 580 Likes on 486 Posts

Do you have the years and motors right as a preliminary question? I could believe a 14 4.0t and a 15 3.0T might pencil out price wise in similar price or budget zones, but not if you put both the bigger motor and the new year together.