AudiWorld Forums

AudiWorld Forums (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/)
-   A8 / S8 (D4 Platform) Discussion (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a8-s8-d4-platform-discussion-190/)
-   -   Help a potential buyer? (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a8-s8-d4-platform-discussion-190/help-potential-buyer-2803613/)

kwilkins 04-06-2011 06:24 AM

Help a potential buyer?

I have been researching and test driving cars for a couple of months now and have a few questions I hope you can help with. I won’t bother you with all the cars I’ve considered but the two finalists (so far) were the Audi A7 and the BMW 550i sedan. I say “were” because I had an extended test drive (24 hours) of the new A7 and sadly have crossed it off my list. I loved many things about the A7 but for my liking the ride was too hard, it was too loud in the cabin, it was a tad shy in power, and the cockpit was too tight and low. All of these are obviously subjective things and I know many people will love the A7. As a side-note the A7 I drove did have the 20 inch summer tires and I understand it would have driven smoother and quieter with 19 inch all seasons, but the difference wouldn’t be enough to overcome my objections.

So, now I’ve settled on the BMW 550i and was ready to place an order when my little devil said something like “You know, you really could afford the A8 if you wanted it” damn that devil!

I do understand the 5 Series and the A8 are different kinds of cars and that the 7 series is the A8’s direct competition from BMW. I’m not a fan of the 7 series and would take the 5 over it if I stick with BMW. I love the power and handling of the 550i, and it’s not to shabby on the luxury side of things either, although certainly not up to the level of the A8.

If I get the A8 I’ll go with the short wheelbase. I’m interested to know how significantly the Sport Package option changes the A8. Specifically:

How much better does it handle cornering?

Is the ride a good deal harsher?