Audi 100 1994 2.6E ABC wont start

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2017, 12:48 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Audi 100 1994 2.6E ABC wont start

Hello fellow Audi enthusiast.
I got an Audi 100 1994 2.6E (Engine code: ABC), i got i very cheap because it wont start. The previous owner had a workshop trying to fix it, and they change the camshaft senser, coilpacks, different relays, and the ignition modul (black thing with 2 connectors). I have then tried to change the engine box, the one in the car was a Hella with the number: 4A0 907 473 A. I changed the box to one with the number: 4A0 907 473 B. When i tried to start the car, it fired once, and then died and now it wont do anything again. The fuel pump relay is clicking, and i can hear the pump when i turn on ignition, but it wont start.

I'm a car mechanic and i have tried everything i could think of, but still nothing, i have now put 12 hours in to it over two days, im really close to giving up and just send the car to the scrapyard, but i wont give up. I really want it running so i can get rid of my crappy Audi 80.

Hope someone can help me with my issue. Sorry for my bad english or wrong mechanic words. Be free to ask me if there is something i have missed!
Old 04-18-2017, 06:36 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 31 Likes on 31 Posts

Take the ignition switch out and check it..if you have the "old style" switch it may be cracked..and you car will be hopelessly screwed up and things just don't work. 1994 would be an old switch design.

Pretty easy to do..remove the instrument cluster then a cover on the switch with the lock-out cable and two small flat head screws..use an OEM switch if you need one.

You hear the fuel pump relay clicking..be sure you are getting fuel to the injectors..with great care..remove the inlet fuel line going into the injector rail and direct it into a container...spin the engine over and see if the fuel is filling the container?