Audi 4000 Quattro 20v turbo build

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2012, 03:14 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Audi 4000 Quattro 20v turbo build

Im doing some research on Audi 4000 Quattro 20v turbo build and would more info if there is anyone thats done this swop before.

I am busy buying a 4000 manual quattro (have a couple to chose from)

I am new to audis so all advice will be helpfull.

I have been talking to Rogviler on here a bit -
-Quote-
Peter Sask

Rogviler - How much work is swapping a 20vt in to the 4000?

-----------------------

Rogviler

A 20vt isn't too bad. Some things make it easier, like the lack of having to figure out what to do with all the CIS stuff. If you can do one you can do the other. I've had the opportunity to see a few 20vt swaps in person, and I was really surprised with how much better a lot of it fits than the 10vt or even the plain 10v.

On the other hand, the radiator can be a challenge due to the intake manifold being on that side. I generally see people angling the stock one, but I've also seen some more custom stuff that places it in the front or makes it more compact in the stock location.

Running the intake piping is a heck of a lot easier since you don't have to run two different directions with it.

Totally worth the effort though.

-Rog

--------------------------

Peter Sask

Do you think it would be better to keep the 4000 stock transmission(manual) or use a 20vt one?

What Hp will be safe on stock internals.

What kind of modifications to body/engine will be needed to make this work

---------------------------------

Rogviler

I'd stay with the stock transmission myself. It can hold a lot of power, as long as you have a good clutch and pressure plate. If you're going to go way beyond stock with the horsepower then maybe, but I haven't seen too many people worrying about that part of it. If you wanted a 6-speed or something then that's different.