First Car 4KQ

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2014, 05:24 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Car 4KQ

My dad is picking up a 1985 Audi 4000s Quattro this Friday. It'll be my first car and it hasn't ran in over 10 years. It's going to be a project car that we're going to bring back to life. It has a lot of body work that needs to be done and again, it still doesn't run and we have no clue what the reason is yet. What are some common problems with this car? Also, what are some good mods?
Old 09-30-2014, 06:08 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

That was my 15 yr old son. I wanted him to start the thread. He's more about mods research than getting it running research. He will learn through sweat equity. Im a shade tree mechanic and have always loved 80's German cars as that was my high school generation. I worked at a Benz, BMW, Porsche dealer as a porter thru high school. How i found this car...I helped a friend of a friend move and noticed an 85 4000sq sitting idle in her drive way. She said it wouldn't start and she took it to a private audi mechanic and he failed. Been sitting since 2001. She wanted to donate it to charity for scrap. I made her a deal....I will take the car and if i get it running i will pay u 300.00. If i cant....she can the donation company. Im a shade tree mechanic with some skills but the audi is new to me. Ive been researching this forum and reading builds and fixes. We are going to start with the fuel distributor as the culprit. I will post pics after pic up this week. He will be doing most of the pictures and posting (gotta earn it). Wish us luck !
Old 09-30-2014, 07:58 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

That's pretty awesome. I can almost guarantee the fuel system is glued shut. Heck, with that new ethanol crap they'll plug up in only a few months of sitting...