Audi A3 / S3 / RS 3 Discussion forum for the 8L and 8P Audi A3 S3 and RS3
Sponsored by: Audi Online Parts

New RS3 vs. used RS7

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2019, 01:47 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New RS3 vs. used RS7

Apologies if this is asked somewhere else or belongs somewhere else. I am new to Audi (from BMW) and new to AW, and I really appreciate any and all ideas for my upcoming purchase!

Due to ice/snow, I am moving to Audi, and have a budget of approximately $60k-85k. The way I see it, I can order a brand new RS3 with precisely the build/specs I would like, or else I could go for a used RS7 or RS5 with low mileage. I'm having a bit of trouble deciding since I just went to the Audi dealership to test drive them and they have none available (!).

A bit about me:

- Kids out of the house, 90% of driving is with me alone so don't need cargo space
- Have other SUVs etc. so the car doesn't need to do everything
- I really want a quiet interior when cruising at 70mph on the highway (I am worried about this with the RSs as I can't seem to find one to test drive)
- I am not a flashy person, so the RS3 is just fine in terms of understatement and I don't need bragging rights
- I am not going to ever take the car to the limit or take it to the track, though I like to open it up on open roads (this makes me think the RS7 is "too much car")

I am leaning towards buying a brand new RS3 with all the bells and whistles. Does anyone think this is a bad idea, and it would be smarter to buy a 2-year-old RS5 or RS7? I do not need the extra space (and the interior space seems just about the same, to be honest.

Also, should I consider buying a used RS3? Is there any wisdom in buying a lightly used CPO RS3 from a value perspective?

Thanks so much. Sorry for any of the noob questions above. Looking forward to getting behind an Audi so I can drive, not slide, down my driveway.

Dan

Old 03-03-2019, 04:58 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member