Sponsored by: Audi Online Parts

Questions regarding buying a used A3

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2018, 06:12 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions regarding buying a used A3

Hi,

Newbie here. I am planning to buy a used A3 in the next few weeks. I'll be buying the car through a broker in Germany to import in France (even tho I live in sunny California I have aging family in France that I need to visit more and more often and renting a car every time I visit is just killing me). The broker is just an intermediary between me and dealers (we both search for cars and he contacts the dealers for the car that I like) and he will commission and independent inspection so I'll know before signing the deal what state the car is in.

Based on my needs I have settled on a A3 5 doors (break / estate). My parameters are:

- Quattro (family lives in the mountains, so snow and ice 3 months of the year)
- Engine: either the 2.0 liters Turbo Diesel 170HP (possibly the 140 HP) or the 2.0 liter Turbo gas 200 HP.
- Year range 2007 to 2014 (based no budget).
- Mileage: less than 80,000 km (50,000 miles) but I might push to 100,000 km (62,000 miles) based on feedback on this post.
- Gearbox - either manual or auto (wife prefers the auto, me the manual, we'll take what we find but consider the reliability too).

Once I get the car
What I would be interested in knowing is what are the possible "gotchas" and things to look for in these models (year range and engine):

- Reliability and maintenance costs (for example distribution belt replacement, quattro maintenance and reliability, electronic gremlins, Auto DSG box, clutch no the manual, etc...)
- Years / models to avoid, year and model to pick

Then I am not especially looking for a built in GPS, but being able to connect my mobile phone to the on board audio is critical for me, preferably via bluetooth (for navigation, phone calls and music). What are the options for these.