Audi A5 / S5 / RS5 Coupe & Cabrio (B8) Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A5, S5 and RS5 Coupe and Cabriolet Model years 2009 - 2017

First Time Buying, Questions about an A5

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2018, 03:20 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Time Buying, Questions about an A5

This is my first time buying a car, so I apologize if any of my questions are stupid. I've been leasing various cars for the past 4 years and am finally going to get the car I really want (well the A5, not the S5). I decided on an Audi A5, and based on what I want to pay I landed on a CPO 2015 Premium Plus A5. I've found a few options that are all around $29-30k for the car alone, and $33-35k out the door (including the cost of shipping the car to me). With that, I've got a couple questions:
  1. Is there any reason to get the 2015 over the 2014? I see a few 2014 options that are a 3-5 thousand less, but I thought they would have less re-sale value and possibly be in worse condition from just being older. Am I wrong with this line of thinking, or should I stick with the 2015?
  2. Am I crazy for buying a CPO car without having test-driven the specific car I'm buying? I've driven other A5s at the dealership, but I don't want to buy a last minute plane ticket just to test drive the same thing if it's not necessary.
  3. Following #2, do I need to get a third party inspection if it's CPO?
  4. Is it likely I will find a dealer who will install remote start? I've heard some dealers will do it, and not sure if this is a realistic expectation. How much should I expect to pay for it?
  5. Is there anything I'm missing?
Thanks for any help you might have. I know these are probably really basic questions, but I'm really nervous to buy for the first time and don't know where else to ask.
Old 04-12-2018, 11:49 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

1. Your call... hard to say without more specifics
2. No... well maybe... I bought mine sight unseen
3. Yes... definitely