Audi A5 / S5 / RS5 Coupe & Cabrio (B9) Discussion forum for the B9 Audi A5, S5 and RS5 Coupe and Cabriolet 2018 model year and up

Too early to run summer tires in New England?

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2018, 04:07 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Too early to run summer tires in New England?

I'm picking up an S5 Sportback with 19" Cavo wheels and summer tires next Sat. While I have read extensively about the differences between summer/winter/all-season tires and know that switching between summers and winters is recommended, I've been driving through New England (RI) winters for the last 30+ years with nothing but all-season tires and never had any issues with their handling in the snow. I was planning to order UHP A/S tires and have the dealer replace the summer tires before I pick up the S5 next week, but the sales guy I've bought my previous 3 Audi's from suggested I'd be "fine" at this time of year (barring any snow-fall) with running the summers from now through say Oct., and then switching to the UHP A/S's. While I like the idea of at least getting some use out of the OEM summers before changing over to A/S's, I don't want to be penny-wise and pound foolish, so to speak. I would not risk running the summer tires in any snow or sleet conditions, but he's suggesting that in 30-40 degree temperatures (currently and probably the norm for a few more weeks before true spring weather kicks in), I should be fine running the summer tires on drive pavement. I test drove the S5 today (temp was in the high 30's) and certainly didn't notice any squirrelly handling. My sales guy also said it's exposure to prolonged cold temps that cause issues with the summer tires and since my car is garaged over-night and while at work, this mitigates that issue.Would appreciate feedback from any fellow New Englanders or those in the northern states who switch from winters to summers - do you think it's too early in the year to be running summer tir