Notices
Audi allroad Discussion forum for the original Audi allroad

Bumper paint finish matching by body shops -- has anyone had complete success?

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2003, 12:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bumper paint finish matching by body shops -- has anyone had complete success?

I recently had my bumper (among other things) replaced because my dealer damaged it while servicing my car. I was aware that that other people on this forum have had trouble with body shops being able to duplicate the matte or satin finish on our bumpers, etc, so I expressed concern about this both the my dealer and directly to the body shop handling the work. I was repeatedly assured that they would have no trouble.

To make a long story short, despite their assurances to the contrary, the finish on the new bumper does not match that of the old. It feels rough and does not reflect light the same way as the factory finish.

I have no real experience with auto painting, but it seems as if they simply sprayed the paint on and didn't sand or otherwise finish the surface.

Those of you who have had success getting perfectly matching paint (both surface texture and color) can you post and let me know about it?

Thanks. In the mean time I am researching old posts.
Old 02-20-2003, 04:14 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default I think the answer is no. Some get close, but if it were me...

and I needed to get one fender repainted, I'd insist on all fenders and bumpers being painted, or I'd opt to "color match" at that point. I saw an allroad that tried to match one fender, and it really stuck out.
Old 02-20-2003, 06:29 PM

Default I had the front license plate trim piece painted and they got close.

But it is not exactly the same. Plus, little pits are showing up on it from minor road debris (the original bumper is showing no signs of this).
Old 02-20-2003, 06:33 PM

Default Update