Audi e-tron / Q8 e-tron Discussion forums for the electric Audi e-tron SUV.

To buy a 25kwh Dc and above?

Old 05-13-2019, 04:03 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default To buy a 25kwh Dc and above?

So let’s assume that the cost we’re not prohibitive, and powers we’re available for Level 3 at 25 kWh and above...

Due to the fact there are no level 3 chargers within a reasonable distance, and time is a factor of life...if you wanted to install a level 3 or even partner with a provider who would entertain your dream...where would you start?

is a 25kw DC charger affordable on any sane level and will it achieve our goal of fast charging? If not, at what level does level 3 make any affordable sense, Especially when you factor in the time to charge?

I don’t know if 25 or even 50 would be anough to accomplish my goal, as I’m not an electrician, etc. however, I did stay at a holiday inn last night....
Old 05-13-2019, 04:20 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 234 Likes on 171 Posts

Having DC charging setup at your home would be pretty cost prohibitive, not to mention the permits that you would need and most residential areas are not equipped to have a level 3 charging station installed. Also, in the long run, the slower rate of level 2 charging is better for overall battery health. Long story short, it's really not feasible.
Old 05-13-2019, 04:40 PM
AudiWorld Member

Thank you for your input. Actually, my home is above a commercial building that we own, and separately near by I have a second commercial building where both are possible.

As for cost, that’s the question. There’s a limit to what’s reasonable, but if it’s the only level 3 in our corridor, then it maybe makes sense. Let’s assume that the nearest 3 phase power was within reasonable reach, what type of dc charger would do the trick? Would a dc 25 be enough or it that pissing in the wind. Charger alone are we talking 10k and above?
Old 05-13-2019, 05:05 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member