Audi Q8 Discussion forums for the Audi Q8 SUVs

Education requested on Leasing

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2019, 07:02 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Education requested on Leasing

I'm new to leasing so trying to learn as much as I can. I spoke to one dealer who told me that Audi uses the vehicle purchase price and then subtracts the residual value (currently 51%) then adds in interest to determine the cost amount to use in the lease..
Is the interest rate used in the lease set by Audi? Basically does Audi sets the interest rate and residual values or does each dealership do their own? What's the down side to a lease? Is it just the interest rate you pay on the lease? Is that rate usually higher than just
the 5% you would pay financing the car? Trying to understand if I finance the car and after 3 years I wanted to trade it in.. Would the trade in be higher than the residual value given the miles stayed within the lease amount? Sorry if this sounds confused but it's coming from me
who is in fact a bit confused. Thanks!

Old 05-07-2019, 08:13 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1,091 Likes on 770 Posts

Steve,

Audi sets Residual based on term, and mileage (and whether AudiCare is in the deal or not, boosts residual by 1%

Interest is set ultimately by the dealer, based on a base rate set by Audi. Let's a dealer make some profit on the back end of a deal, for a generous discount on the front end of a deal. Ultimately, base rate is set by Audi., based on credit, income, debt to income ratio.....ie, that info per the credit application assigns you to a Tier, and that Tier determines the base rate.

Rates vary car to car - cars in demand (Q8, example in your case), or specialty models (RS anything) have higher rates than cars that are consistent movers with more competition (aka Q5, SQ5, A4, S4).