Audi Q8 Discussion forums for the Audi Q8 SUVs

Handsfree tailgate??

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2019, 06:15 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Handsfree tailgate??

I am just getting started with my Navarra Blue w Salga Beige leather, Prestige, Lux, Year 1, etc Q8 (picked up yesterday). Already experienced the audio volume issue (email in to dealer) and have abandoned CarPlay because I prefer the Google Earth maps used in conjunction with Waze on my phone. Plus, I don't like the way CarPlay takes over my phone. Trying to figure out some of the other features in the manual. I can't seem to make the "Handsfree" tailgate work. Is there a trick to that?? Also, I can't find where to define Users. Any help would be appreciated...

GW
Old 01-26-2019, 07:48 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 138 Likes on 93 Posts

Handsfree tailgate function doesn’t work on my car. Someone posted a trick of doing the kick left of center and stepping back immediately. Works for some people apparently, not for me. Useless feature.
Old 01-26-2019, 08:44 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Thanks. Tried it locked and unlocked, doesn't seem to work. Going to the dealer on Monday where he will "show" me how to do it. Ironically, my RS7 trunk used to open as I walked by with the key in my pocket about once a month!!

Found the user setup feature. Now trying to get it to keep those settings when I get in and out of the car. Pretty frustrating so far. Last time, it didn't even save the Drive Select settings.
Old 01-26-2019, 08:59 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Originally Posted by gkendallw
Thanks. Tried it locked and unlocked, doesn't seem to work. Going to the dealer on Monday where he will "show" me how to do it. Ironically, my RS7 trunk used to open as I walked by with the key in my pocket about once a month!!