Auto Detailing Discussion Discussion forum for the in's and out's of properly detailing your ride

DIY: Headlight restoration

Old 09-13-2017, 01:57 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY: Headlight restoration

I am not a professional, and this is just a description of what I did to restore my headlights. This is based on using 3M headlight restoration kit. Feel free to use any tools you want to restore, but be careful and read the instructions following the kit you use.
If you have any questions or comments, please let me know and I’ll update the post.

Items used:
Spraybottle with clean water
Car shampoo or similar to clean headlights before starting
Microfiber cloths
Masking tape
1200-1600 rpm drill
3m Headlight restoration kit that includes:
1 Disc pad holder
6 P500 grit disc
4 P800 grit disc
1 3000 grit disc
1 Polishing pad
1 Polish compound

General sanding tips:
- Try to hold the disc as flat as possible against the lens. Holding it with an angle makes it easier to remove bad scratches but it creates an uneven surface and can produse really bad marks.
- Use light pressure. More pressure just produces more heat and you will have to wait for it to cool down. No time saved there.
- Be very careful with heat!!!! This is maybe one of the most important things to be careful about when doing this. If you use too much pressure, too high speed or keep sanding the same area for a long time, your lens will get warm. If your lens get warm you have just created a ton of more work for yourself. It will make bad marks or even melt the plastic. Remember to check for heat often, and take a break if the lens feel warm.
- Change to a new disc when it gets clogged or doesn’t sand anymore.
- Wipe off dust often, you don’t want to rub it into the lens again.

1. Clean the lenses with soap and water, and dry them.

2. Mask and protect around the lens, at least two layers is advised to protect the paint and details around the lens.