Performance and Tuning Discussion forum for various performance tuning techniques and questions

What's Up W/ Japanese Turbo Cars?? long...

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2001, 10:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's Up W/ Japanese Turbo Cars?? long...

I am reading all this info on sites about Japanese cars that have been turbo'd, and it makes me wonder. I am no expert on the subject, but how can something like a Honda or Toyota push 500-700HP when they have turbos, and the Audi's are in 300-400 range, for A4's and S4's? I love my A4, but I guess my question is this - are there limitations on the Audi engines that limit their max HP compared to some of the Japanes cars. Why is this the case between the Audi's and Japanese cars? What are the differences in engineering, whatever, that allow for this craziness? I am looking at a Supra in particular(not to buy), but also looking at Honda. Some of these cars are like rockets...Any explanation on this would be enlightening and much appreciated...thanks...
Old 07-07-2001, 12:04 PM
Elder Member

Default $$$$

You need to spend a lot of dough to make 500-700HP. Here's why so many Japanese turbo cars make 500-700HP. Because many ricers lie.

An Audi S4 can be made to make 500HP approximately as easily as a Supra. Both are very difficult.

A little over 500HP should be no problem on an S4 with a Stage III and nitrous. Of course you need a new fuel regulator, all kinds of new piping and some way to trick the ECU into dumping more fuel in when you turn the nitrous on.

Bottom line, don't believe everything you read. High HP figures like those do exist, but require significant aftermarket modification. And this has plenty of reliability downside.
Old 07-07-2001, 12:14 PM

Default Very simple answer