Need some suggestions...

Old 02-06-2009, 06:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some suggestions...

I need some advice on digital SLR's. After long consideration, I have decided to get into the digital SLR realm. I am a newbie to that world, but before you start flaming, please understand that photography is a hobby for me and I have always wanted to get more serious about it. My goals are partly to take better photos, but also to really learn how to control an SLR and understand the mechanics of manual mode shooting. I believe I have started to hit some of the limitations with the photographs I take on my P&S camera, where I am left wanting and demanding more from my camera. I have no doubt in my mind that I want to get into the SLR space, and since I already own a P&S camera, I really don't want to take an intermediate step and spend the money on another in between P&S and then to SLR.

That said, I am hoping you guys can give me some suggestions. When first getting into the digital SLR realm, do you guys recommend taking a class or should I just read up on the tons of info on the web and start practicing on the camera to learn things? What would you guys recommend as a good beginner DSLR? I have been looking at the Canon Rebel XSi as a good camera within my price range of $600-$1000. I have read that it is better to spend a bit less on the camera and more on a good lens then the other way around. What would you recommend for a couple good starter lenses? The camera comes with an 18-55mm IS lens. Any other information, tips or suggestions are greatly appreciated. I thank you in advance for the help and information.
Old 02-06-2009, 07:07 AM
RKA
AudiWorld Uber User

Default You're on the right track...