Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

2007 Q7 will not start after iv driven

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2018, 09:35 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2007 Q7 will not start after iv driven

Hi all I’m new to this so I’d like to say hi to you all
I have a 2007 Q7 with the 2012 upgrade when I start it up in the morning it’s fine an if I popped into the shop it will not start again to crank like it’s completly dead if I leave it for an hour to cool down it will start or if I come an start it straight up ild have to jump start it with a booster pack iv changed the battery an alternator it’s had a full service it’s wanted for nothing basically I’m just at a loose end of what to do about the dead start when it’s hot if there is something I could try or do that’ll be great
thank for reading an if you can help or point me in the right direction that’ll be great as it’s bloody annoying an inbarresing when I walk out of the shops
Old 03-14-2018, 01:25 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Hey mate, what particular model do you have, ie engine 3.0 diesel, 3.6 or 4.2 petrols
Old 03-14-2018, 01:30 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Originally Posted by Up-it
Hey mate, what particular model do you have, ie engine 3.0 diesel, 3.6 or 4.2 petrols
hi I have the 3.0 tai Quattro
Old 03-15-2018, 05:58 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

This sounds like a possible case of the starter motor solenoid failing when it becomes hot from the engines heat, as you stated it starts no worries cold. When the solenoid is hot, the contact for the armature stick closed causing no engagement when the key is on. Unfortunately it means a stater motor replacement for this one. Testing with a clamp meter is the only way to see if it pulls current when cranked hot.