Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

DREADED PCV Whistle on our new (2nd hand) 4.2L V8 Q7

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2019, 03:32 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DREADED PCV Whistle on our new (2nd hand) 4.2L V8 Q7

My Wife & I recently bought a stunning 2006 Q7 (4.2L V8 Petrol) with the understanding that it had the well known PCV Whistle. The previous owner had it diagnosed at our local Audi Dealership & was quoted $1,500 to replace the PCV - which he couldn't afford & let the car go (to us) very cheap. As I'm a Qualified Mechanic (& with your old Forum Posts), I was able to buy & fit a replacement part from Ebay (cheap Chinese one??? not sure).

Link to it here - https://bit.ly/2MqcOgQ

So, for $85, I replaced (& supposedly fixed the issue). However, it only fixed the whistle for about 200km. Then it came back with vengence - on an INTERSTATE FAMILY HOLIDAY Luckily, I took the old one along, cleaned internals with Petrol & refitted & WOWEE!!! It was fixed for 3 or 4 days, until I put the "Pedal to the Metal" & overtook a car. Then it came back & will not go away..... I've taken both PCV's off, removed the diaphram & inspected them - they both look OK.

I'm not looking forward to the 800km drive home with a whistle tomorrow & am thinking of putting a Catch Can in & removing the PCV all together. Does anyone have experience with this? Any ideas that will (cheaply) fix the F@%*ing Whistle?

HELP.....
Old 01-24-2019, 05:17 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts