Q7 MKII Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 MKII built from 2016 -

15,000 miles: Front brakes DONE?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2019, 04:24 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 15,000 miles: Front brakes DONE?

So my 2017 Q7 brakes were pulsating bad and getting worse. So I brought it in for service oil change and rotate tires and check brakes. The Service Tech calls me and tells me the front pads and rotors are DONE! Really 15,000 miles? The pulsating started about 10,000 miles and got worse. I asked to speak with the service manger and when I spoke to her she tried to say it was because I most drive with 2 feet. Ahh no I’ve been driving for over 40 years and know how to drive. She then asks do i drive fast? Huh? Yeah I do. But the rotors still should not be shot after 15K. I told her I currently also own a 2014 Porsche 911 that I thrash around way worse than the Q and the brakes are fine. I get the number of Audi NA. They were better and more accommodating. They agreed to Comp the rotors for “Audi good will”. I told him this is my 6th Audi and my wife’s current A5 Cab. NEVER had I had such poor quality brakes on a vehicle. Don’t get me wrong I love everything about the Q except the brakes. I know its a heavy vehicle but really 15K on rotors just doesn’t seem right. If they go in another 15k I think I will go aftermarket.
Old 02-02-2019, 05:39 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts

Thanks for the heads up.
What is your guesstimate for highway/city driving? When did you purchase 2016?
Old 02-02-2019, 06:14 AM
AudiWorld Member

Originally Posted by GBMILTON
Thanks for the heads up.
What is your guesstimate for highway/city driving? When did you purchase 2016?
Don’t know. Purchased 01/2017. I do mostly highway driving and very little stop and go. And i don’t Use it much in the summer so your guess is as good as mine.
Old 02-03-2019, 08:58 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts