Q7 MKII Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 MKII built from 2016 -

2018 Q7 'wanders'

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2018, 12:43 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2018 Q7 'wanders'

hi, i'm new. i have an issue w my brand new vehicle. i am a race car driver and come from that perspective. and also, i own a Porsche Cayenne Turbo, from which to compare. and a ferrari. (and a honda fit). none of which wander.

my new audi 'wanders', that is, does not track straight and true. it requires constant steering input. (when on lane-driver-assist, the electronic intervention repeatedly intervenes).

i immediately suspected front toe-in, or absence thereof.

i took it in and found that the many interventions systems might be at fault in addition to the mild right rear toe adjustment they made. i was astonished to find that these systems are always active and that some of them directly affect steering.

anyway, after the service, the problem persists. i have not driven other '18 q7's and do not know if it's endemic to the breed, although, i find it hard to believe that audi would engineer it this way.

it has 19" wheels and all-season tires, fyi.

any ideas out there? more particularly, do '18/'19 owners experience this at all?

(oh, ps, i hate the steering. it's vague, feedback-less, mushy on-center, etc. electric over-boosted i imagine)

thank you
The following users liked this post:
Hunter2017 (03-06-2021)
Old 12-29-2018, 03:14 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 32 Likes on 23 Posts

I have driven a number of Q7s and did not had a problem with the car wandering unless the semi-autonomous lane assist/centering was enabled. The latter feature is seriously flawed; so much so that it is more comfortable driving with it disabled. Are you driving with that feature enabled? If so, I may have a suggested fix.
Old 12-29-2018, 05:38 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts