Q7 MKII Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 MKII built from 2016 -

Q7 vs X5 review from former X5 owner

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2017, 07:42 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Q7 vs X5 review from former X5 owner

I have been buying BMWs since 2000 and have owned a bunch of X5s since then (over 10). This year I drove my first Audi in a long time, a 2016 A5 convertible and loved it. Later I tried the 2017 Q7 and also liked it. Three weeks ago I traded my latest X5 in for a 2017 Q7 which now has 1500 miles on it. Figured I'd write my comparison of the Q7 and X5.

I am comparing the Q7 Premium Plus with the 2017 X5 3.5i. The X5 has several trims for the 3.5i, my latest was the MSport trim. Lots to compare and I'll give it my best shot.

Steering

This is frankly what attracted me most to the Q7 (with the engine a close 2nd). The Q7 steering has a decent road feel to it where the X5 is very soft and isolated. The X5 issues started with the F15 in 2014, the old E70 did not have that issue.

Engine and Transmission

Two different approaches since the Q7 has a supercharger and the X5 a turbo charger. The X5 does have turbo lag and the base engine without the M performance pack lags a bit from a dead start. The X5 3.5 is superb at higher revs/speeds and passing is very strong. The Q7 impressed me because it is strong from a dead start. I really like how strong it feels initially. That said, the Q7 is a little slower at higher speeds/revs and you can feel it pulling the extra weight.

Both the Q7 and X5 use the same transmission from ZF but for some reason the Q7 downshifts more often. That appears to be related to the size of the Q7. The transmission is very smooth in both.

Overall gas mileage is similar with the X5 and Q7. Note I owned the X5 5.0i for a while. It is in a different league for performance but also expensive and unreliable.

Drive