RS4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi RS4

1st, 2nd, 3rd gear crunch....

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2011, 08:03 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st, 2nd, 3rd gear crunch....

Ok you guys know I'm new to my RS4 (42k miles)....I'm noticing a slight crunch going into those gears...I was watching the videos on JHM's website...and I think I'm understanding that the synchronizers in those gears start to wear...and that JHM has a good replacement part. Is anyone else noticing that? I'm just wondering how much labor it would cost to replace those few parts...I was pretty sure tranny labor was pretty expensive...any thoughts from you veterans are appreciated!
Old 10-09-2011, 05:56 AM
AudiWorld Expert

Received 41 Likes on 33 Posts

It will probably be between 2 and 5k.

You might look around for a aftermarket shop to do the work. Check in the local forum for recommendations
Old 10-09-2011, 09:50 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Can't imagine 3 synchros going bad at once. Maybe a hanging clutch (warped disk, hydraulics need to be bled, etc).
Old 10-10-2011, 04:46 AM
AudiWorld Member

Originally Posted by ELEVENS
Can't imagine 3 synchros going bad at once. Maybe a hanging clutch (warped disk, hydraulics need to be bled, etc).
Thanks Elevens....I have my 45k service coming up at the 'stealership' so I'll ask them to look at it for me...It's weird...after driving the car a lot this weekend...I noticed, the situation is only intermittent...maybe its when the car is cold...not quite sure....
Old 10-10-2011, 04:46 AM
AudiWorld Member

Originally Posted by Reggie
It will probably be between 2 and 5k.

You might look around for a aftermarket shop to do the work. Check in the local forum for recommendations
Whoa...that's expensive..thanks Reggie!
Old 10-11-2011, 08:45 AM
AudiWorld Expert

Received 41 Likes on 33 Posts

Originally Posted by BADRS4
Whoa...that's expensive..thanks Reggie!