RS4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi RS4

Is carbon build-up really a deal-breaker?

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2011, 02:15 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is carbon build-up really a deal-breaker?

Doing my research, looks like addressing the carbon build up is a $800-$1k job done every 20k-25k miles. If that's really true, what's the big deal? We pay more than that in tires for half those miles.

I'm sure I'm missing something, but someone please educate me :-)

I'm a B8 S4 daily driver looking to make the switch.
Old 05-03-2011, 02:33 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 141 Likes on 97 Posts

Originally Posted by ssaa77
Doing my research, looks like addressing the carbon build up is a $800-$1k job done every 20k-25k miles. If that's really true, what's the big deal? We pay more than that in tires for half those miles.
I'm sure I'm missing something, but someone please educate me :-)
I'm a B8 S4 daily driver looking to make the switch.
Not sure. I have 29k miles on mine and no carbon cleanup yet. The car feels as strong as ever, but if it ever needs the cleaning, I am willing to have it done. This, because it's the best car I have even owned.
Old 05-03-2011, 02:34 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

I know lots of guys that went from a B8 S4 to a B7 RS4, but only one that went from an RS4 to a B8 S4.