RS4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi RS4

I got one! 2008 Daytona Gray, w/Premium and Titanium. Having trouble getting used to the clutch.

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2008, 11:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I got one! 2008 Daytona Gray, w/Premium and Titanium. Having trouble getting used to the clutch.

Long time slightly modded A6 2.7T 6MT owner finally takes plunge and moves to new AW forum. Buys new car.

After weeks of on-and-off negotiating, I finally brought her home. Here in the Bay Area, local dealers don't quite seem as motivated as some others reported on this forum. Still, cant complain - eventually got to a reasonably satisfying 10,500 below MSRP w,Titanium and Audi Care.

I have to say, I really do like the titanium finish with the Daytona Gray. It just gives off a classy, and at the same time, a dont-mess-with-me vibe. Loving the Piano Black interior.

I'll post pics if any interest.

I'm still learning my way around - but one thing is troubling me a little. I am having the hardest time getting to grips with the clutch. I find it particularly grabby. Especially down low - the 1 to 2 shift. I am surprised with how light the pedal feel is. The shift action occurs so quickly from the lowest point of travel to the time it begins to engage, and the engagement is so abrupt, that I cannot help bounce the pedal a little at the point of engagement (which can result in a passenger-complaining lurch during the shift).

In contrast, my faithful A6 2.7T has a much heavier feel throughout the pedal travel range, which gives greater control at engagement.

Does this make sense? Is it just because I'm still getting to know this car? Have others experienced the same? Where you able to overcome it.

And for the record, I am a long time manual transmission user. In 25 years of driving, all my cars have been manual. Put me in an auto and I'll be complaining and whining within minutes.

cheers.
Old 09-25-2008, 02:23 AM