RS4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi RS4

new to the forum (prospective buyer)

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2009, 05:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to the forum (prospective buyer)

hi guys. been browsing the forums for a few weeks now and finally decided to post and introduce myself. a little about me, been a huge car enthusiast and actually graduaded from UTI's volkswagen accademy. although i ended up working for bmw for almost 4 years. im no longer in the car industry, im just a full time student right now. i currently have my eye on an 2007 rs4 with about 22k miles. its from a local high perfomance used car dealership so its obviously not a cpp car. it still has the remaining balance of the original factory warranty, leaving me with a few questions:

is the remaining warranty actually transferable? i've read about the rs4's two major issues, the drc leak and excessive carbon buildup. assuming i pick the car up and none of those issues are present or noticable, what are the chances those issues will arrise by the time the remaining warranty is up? i know its hard to gauge, but do the issues usually rear themselves within a certain mileage or timeframe? the drc isnt as much as an issue to me as its a valid reason to upgrade the suspension. in short, when did you guys actually start experiencing the symptoms of carbon build-up? and when you did take it to the dealer were they able to fix it and was the fix perminent? as stated above i have a lot of technical background, so get as technical as you want

thanks in advance!
mike
Old 04-30-2009, 01:35 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

I just got a 2007 RS4 a couple weeks ago and am still learning about the car so even though I can't answer your questions I have some info to share.