S4 (B6 & B7 Platforms) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi S4 produced from 2003-2005 And B7 Audi S4 produced from 2005 -2008

At what RPM do you engage the clutch?

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2003, 09:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default At what RPM do you engage the clutch?

And once engaged, do you let the rpms drop as the clutch is released, or should you keep the rpms constant or increasing as the clutch is released (i.e., prior to completely release the clutch).

I'm guessing that the "perfect" 1st gear engagement occurs around 1200 RPMs, and is a smooth and slight uptake/increase in RPMs as the clutch is released. Can someone confirm this?

I'm not a newbie, but I'm just trying to make sure I'm doing this totally correctly. It's my understanding that if you engage the clutch at too low RPM's you can damage the clutch. Too high is obviously bad.

Also, do you find it difficult to re-engage into 1st gear? I can't get into 1st unless I'm at almost a dead stop, which results in some lugging of the engine in 2nd gear in stop/go traffic.

Thoughts/tips on being the consummate shifter?

Thanks.
Old 10-21-2003, 09:04 PM
AudiWorld Expert

Default Re: At what RPM do you engage the clutch?

from 1k-1500. Keep it at a constant rpm during engagement.

<= 5mph for 1st re-engagement, if not 2nd gear.

This is what I do.
Old 10-22-2003, 02:53 AM

Default I usually do it by feel and sound and don't pay much attention to the tach under normal

acceleration. Generally, your feet should be going in opposite directions. Push in the clutch and let off the gas to let the revs drop to match the higher gear. Foot off the clutch to engage the gear as you give it gas to keep the revs from dropping while you engage the gear and accelerate.