S4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi S4 produced from 2009-2016

Being sneaky with dual ECUs

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2013, 08:11 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Being sneaky with dual ECUs

Not sure if this is even possible but hear me out...

Can you have 2 different ECUs for 1 car?
1 ecu with tuned maps that may cause a flag at the dealership
1 ecu bone stock that wouldn't raise suspicion of a tune

If there is any warranty work needed or dealership maintenance one could swap in the stock ecu for the trek to the dealership and back then swap the ecu back out for the one with all the party tricks?

I'm a newb to this delightful world of Audi obsessiveness and want to have my cake (warranty) and eat it too (have a performance tune).

Any thoughts would be great.
Old 12-15-2013, 09:20 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by brookssteve
Not sure if this is even possible but hear me out...

Can you have 2 different ECUs for 1 car?
1 ecu with tuned maps that may cause a flag at the dealership
1 ecu bone stock that wouldn't raise suspicion of a tune

If there is any warranty work needed or dealership maintenance one could swap in the stock ecu for the trek to the dealership and back then swap the ecu back out for the one with all the party tricks?

I'm a newb to this delightful world of Audi obsessiveness and want to have my cake (warranty) and eat it too (have a performance tune).

Any thoughts would be great.
No way of having two ECUs in these cars. Each ECU is paired to the car via the vin number and I'm pretty sure no one has cracked that. You can still get a tune which the top tuners (APR and AWE) are able to due through the OBD port. If you need to go to the dealer for work, stop by your tuner shop and get flashed back to stock. You can flash back when the car is done and only have to pay for labor (~30 minutes)
Old 12-16-2013, 08:32 AM
Banned

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts