S4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi S4 produced from 2009-2016

2010 S4 with Stasis Chip & Exhaust - Good Buy or Trouble?

Old 06-21-2014, 01:50 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2010 S4 with Stasis Chip & Exhaust - Good Buy or Trouble?

My first post after lurking for a while here as I've been shopping for a B8 S4 for several months now. I have a couple particular wants and have now come across a 2010 S4, Manual, with 64,000 kms (40k miles) on it. It's fully loaded except it doesn't have the B&O speakers. The car also has a Stasis chip and Stasis stainless exhaust that was originally dealer installed back in 2010. Always dealer serviced, and the warranty is gone. I would classify the car as being in "very good" condition.

I originally test drove it right when it was listed a couple months back, but have been leery about getting a car with this many miles on a Stasis chip. Now the price is very attractive after sitting at the dealer, and am reconsidering.

Are my concerns about this chip running on the motor this long merited or am I just paranoid? I had a VW mkII GTI that had a G60 Motor for years, and it ran great! Never any major issues.... so I'm not adverse to performance packages, and would probably add it at some point later anyways.

Am I good with it or heading for trouble?
Old 06-21-2014, 03:58 PM
AudiWorld Member

Personally, I'd skip it. Check around for information about Stasis' demise. Many reports (including a newspaper not just forum posts) indicate they are done. I'm sure others will disagree buy why buy a car with a product from a company going under? I'd shop CPO or stock but if you really want to buy a car with a tune there are other choices.
Old 06-21-2014, 04:59 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by PsychoGTI