S4 (B9 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B9 Audi S4 produced from 2016-

Drive Select Questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2018, 01:55 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 181 Likes on 103 Posts

The DSG, especially mated up to the supercharged engine was really really nice. But in slow speed situations, like rolling stops, the ZF is much smoother. The DSG had a tendency to shutter near the stall speeds and it would occasionally guess the wrong gear which lead to a delay in shifts. So better in some ways, worse in others. The ZF is more consistently good without ever really being great. (those being relative terms of course)
Old 07-20-2018, 04:23 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1,065 Likes on 740 Posts

Originally Posted by MarkWayneClark
That was a joke. I am enjoying the discussion.

I have no experience with an S4 with such a transmission but I have read here that many people prefer and miss them. I have spend a good deal of time in A4s with the DSG. I can't say that I specifically notice the difference in transmission. I DEFINTELY notice the difference in the cars, and I much prefer the S4. Whether I would like it better with a DSG, I couldn't say. I probably would find it hard to tell.
The DSG in the A4 is one of those that tries to "feel" like a regular automatic and isn't a particularly good example of the differences between a DSG and a Tiptronic. If you ever wanna experience one do it with a more sporty car like the B8 RS5, R8 or a Porsche with the PDK. DSGs can be programmed to be smooth and comfortable or they can be programmed to give you whiplash with each shift. I can particularly recommend driving the R8 V10 Plus in Performance mode if you ever wanna experience the latter.

Originally Posted by njspeedfreak