S4 (B9 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B9 Audi S4 produced from 2016-

Audi Beam Rings - available at last

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2017, 11:02 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 41 Likes on 27 Posts
Default Audi Beam Rings - available at last

I'm now at a tick or two over 600 miles on my new S4. I'm still learning some of the features (and how they work and when they won't) of the Driver Assistance Package.

When I get everything set just so, the damn thing nearly drives itself -- I particularly like the Adaptive Cruise Control in heavy traffic for the nearly stop-n-go trip home on I-275. It is eerie, too, how "it knows" to steer the car on some interesting sweeping curves on some well maintained (and lined) secondary roads. Haven't experienced the "Auto" headlight feature in action yet. Also, thankfully, haven't had the Pre-sense or whatever feature it would be, require intervention to prevent me from slamming into another driver who is in the process of having a "stupid attack." This feature -- DAP -- ought to be standard as should the top-view camera.

It is "odd" (perhaps just a marketing decision) that you can only order the DAP if you configure your new S4 as a Prestige model. Frankly, I have no issue with doing that -- other than the fact that leasing a Prestige model is, well, "unattractive," compared to the P+. Since this is the first car I have purchased (since I have ALWAYS leased, previously) in 40-years, I'm not being hit with the unattractive residual a Prestige model carries.

The "droning" I have been droning on about continues to diminish, and I'm at a point that it is, finally, acceptable. I expect it will continue to subside until it becomes "the sound" it makes. At near full-cry (I have not yet completely floored it, thinking the "break-in" language is more than a suggestion), the sound is great, love it, mostly, in fact.