S4 (B9 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B9 Audi S4 produced from 2016-

19"summer tires in winter driving

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2017, 01:14 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 19"summer tires in winter driving

Hi guys, Audi newbie here - am considering an '18 S4. How precarious do you think if I keep the 19" summer tire setup driving in winters? I am in north NJ. TIA for your inputs.
Old 07-02-2017, 01:17 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 234 Likes on 171 Posts

Don't do it. Buy winter tires to use in the winter or a good set of all seasons for year-round like Continental Extreme Contact DWS06.
Old 07-02-2017, 01:18 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Irresponsible, possibly deadly to yourself and others.
Old 07-02-2017, 02:49 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 181 Likes on 103 Posts

Originally Posted by Sobeit
Hi guys, Audi newbie here - am considering an '18 S4. How precarious do you think if I keep the 19" summer tire setup driving in winters? I am in north NJ. TIA for your inputs.
Seriously. This is not hyperbole. Do not even consider it. The car is a death trap in the snow with summer tires, that is assuming you are even able to get the car moving at all. In fact, it's not all that safe on dry roads once the daytime high temps start dipping into the low 40's.