S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

Radio displays "phone"

Old 08-09-2009, 02:39 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radio displays "phone"

I honestly searched everywhere before i created this thread. but here is my problem... I by accidentally spilled some water onto my radio (first and last time). Soon after the radio started bugging out, so i turned off everything as well as the car. Waited for a good amount of time while drying as much as possible. Then my friend who also has an s4, decided to start pushing buttons, I'm not sure if that triggered anything.

At the end of the day when I turned on the radio and it turned on, the lights of the radio lit up as well, but the radio was displaying "phone" and whatever i pressed didn't work, seemed to me as everything was disabled due to the phone mode. I have no knowledge about this mode, and to clear things up, I do not have a phone hook up.

I was thinking about resetting the radio, but id have to wait a few days for my buddy to get back to me who works at audi to help me out with retrieving my code.

I'm always up for suggestions, and hopefully this can be helpful to others who also make idiotic mistakes such as myself, .
Old 08-10-2009, 04:11 PM
AudiWorld Member

I guess no one experienced this issue, or has no wisdom to share...

I have an appointment tomorrow with a good friend of mine who works for audi of burlington, and we'll see how he approaches this problem.

I'll post back here, if people even care to know what caused this problem, why it did, and how we went about fixing it. Seems like a minor problem but a good fyi for all I suppose.
Old 08-11-2009, 06:39 AM
AudiWorld Member

A new factory radio is only $28.
Old 08-11-2009, 07:37 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member