S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

DANGER: dont even THINK of driving the stock tires on packed snow/ice

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2000, 02:47 PM
Slip Slidin Away...

Default DANGER: dont even THINK of driving the stock tires on packed snow/ice

the theme song was "slip slidin' away.." the last 2 days. that was 15mps in 2nd gear- the lightest touch on the brakes or slightest turn of the wheel sent the car a slidin'.
We the stupid apologize to those who have been ranting to buy snow tires months ago.
I dont know of tire ratings, but to call these "All season" is ridiculous. Shouldnt the dealers know that you really NEED tires other than the ultra-high performance stock tires in the snow?

dont complain of cost. i sold my other car for $12,000, saved up $10000 cash, put $500 on credit card, and got a 5-year loan for $18000- and i'm a physician. i didnt pay cash for my S4 either, but just put out $1200 for 4 Spa wheels and 4 Blizzak MZ1s (late sliders cant be choosy).
i also would be severly inconvenienced if my car wrecked and was in the body show for 3 months.

my 2 cents, but please dont show up in my OR as a trauma because you wrecked in the snow on these stock tires!
Old 01-21-2000, 02:51 PM
Typos!

Default Re: DANGER: dont even THINK of driving the stock tires on packed snow/ice

thats 15 mph ... 15 mps is rather fast- even for a chipped car!
and "body shop"- not "body show"

darn typos!
Old 01-21-2000, 03:28 PM
Ben Broder

They don't call them "all seasons", they are not M+S rated
Old 01-21-2000, 03:41 PM
boston S4

Default Re: I second that!!! I slid into a truck last week!!!!