S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

S4 Turbos Question....

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2006, 07:43 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default S4 Turbos Question....

I recently bought a 2000 S4 tip for my wife.....and I'm very impressed already! I do have a couple questions though as I am a complete noob with this car. The turbos were replaced in the car about 2 years ago (50k ago) but I am hearing "different" noises than in my 1.8T VW. First off, there is absolutely NO loss in power, NO leaking oil, NO white smoke, and NO other 'signs' of blown turbos.....except for the "dentist drill" noise that people talk about. Now, I don't know if it's me just over reacting or what, but the noise isn't loud at all and it only comes on when in initial boost (around 2k rmp). The noise stays around throughout boost, but definately gets quieter the more you push it, and then when the car goes into vaccuum it almost has a "retracting whistle" sound (if that makes sense) for a split second. My question is, with two turbos instead of one, do they sound different to the untrained ear? Is this "whistling" normal for the turbos, or is the start of a turbo swap project? I have read a couple posts on AW and on here where people have a similar sound but found out it was only a leak, how would I check for leaks?

Hopefully somebody can shed some light on this for me.....I'm just learning about the.

Thanks in advance from an S4 noob
Old 08-31-2006, 07:50 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default you dont have dentist drill if it is quiet...you WILL know when you get the real dentist drill

As for the turbos getting quieter at higher RPMs, thats probably because the engine is getting louder and you just cant hear 'em any more.

It sounds like you have a healthy case of paranoia. Welcome to the club!

I'd recommend that you pressure test and then enjoy the car w/o paranoia.

Is the car chipped? Do you have a boost gauge?