S6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi S6 produced from 2012 - 2017

Throttle Lag and 2 footed driving

Old 04-15-2017, 11:31 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Throttle Lag and 2 footed driving

Hi. I just purchased my first Audi, a new 2017 S6. I really enjoy the car, but two things bother me. One is a serious delay in throttle response and the other is the fact the engine seems to seriously back off if you even touch the brake. I'm a two footed driver, using one foot for the brake and the other for the throttle. Several times I've pulled into traffic only to have the car back off and almost cause a crash, just by barely touching the brake pedal. I know the APR upgrade to the ECU is advertised as enabling two footed driving, and is also reputed to significantly improve throttle response. However I don't want to void my warranty so I am considering the RaceChip upgrade which can be removed prior to servicing. Does it too enable two footed driving and improve throttle response?
Old 04-15-2017, 12:23 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Unfortunately, most modern cars disable the throttle when the brake pedal is pressed. You can thank the nitwits who can't tell one pedal from the other but still complained when their car "ran away from them", into a garage wall or family member.

As for the throttle delay, it's a known issue. What year is your car? The early ones were terrible in this respect and later models seem better. Earlier cars can be updated by the dealer to mitigate the issue, but it's an uphill battle to demonstrate the issue to a service tech. My 2013 is significantly better now than it once was, but not perfect. Putting it in Sport Mode when you need to make a hole in traffic does help.
Old 04-15-2017, 03:49 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts