Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

DIY Oil Change for 3.6L Q7 With Pictures

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2012, 06:18 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY Oil Change for 3.6L Q7 With Pictures

I’m going to write up the procedure I used in order to change the oil in my 2008 Audi Q7. As with all DIY tutorials you’ll find in forums, take this advice with a grain of salt. I am not a trained mechanic, just a guy who is somewhat handy and prefers to do the regular maintenance on my own cars. If you see anything that is incorrect or know of any tips or tricks, please feel free to add them. That being said, here we go.

Tools you will need (see picture 1):
  1. 25, 30, and 40 Torx sockets or nut drivers (star shaped)
  2. 36 mm socket
  3. 18 mm box end wrench (you could substitute a socket for this but I prefer a wrench)
  4. Ratchets for the above sockets (I used a ¼”, 3/8”, and ½” drive)
  5. Extensions for the above ratchets
  6. Torque wrench
  7. Oil drain pan large enough to hold a minimum of 8 quarts of oil
  8. Funnel
  9. LOTS of rags for cleaning up oil
  10. Big piece of cardboard for floor
  11. Ramps or jack and jack-stands (optional but very helpful)
  12. 7.5 quarts approved motor oil (I used Castrol Edge Synthetic 5w-40 since that’s what my Audi dealer uses)
  13. Oil filter (I used Mann HU932/6n)

Procedure:
  1. OPTIONAL - Drive the car for 5 minutes to warm up the oil (it drains better if it’s warm)
  2. OPTIONAL - Put the car up on the ramps or jack-stands. Make sure to set the park brake and chock the tires. Always be safe when doing this and don’t rush. I actually did everything without lifting the car but it was quite tight. Next time I will put the car up.
  3. Put down your cardboard to keep from ruining your garage floor. You will likely spill oil.